Amsterdam by foot

On the last weekend of August I came to Amsterdam for a girl’s weekend. Therefore Friday morning I took my suitcase in the office and at 6 p.m. I was already in Luxembourg airport waiting for my flight to Amsterdam. In one hour the plane landed in Schiphol, I met my friend who was flying from Nurnberg and after some adventure with trains we finally arrived to my friend’s apartment on Haveneiland, a new artificial island on the East of the city. The Friday evening which slowly run into the night and the morning of Saturday we spent in talks, wine testing and sharing the latest news. Every time when I meet my friends I feel myself blessed by such smart, brilliant and generous friends!

Next morning after the lovely homemade breakfast we went out for a city tour and a bit of culture.

Even without a flag on the photo it is easy to guess which city it is: recognisable combination of dark facades with huge windows in wight frames lead you to the only conclusion – we are in the Netherlands.

 I amsterdam sign on Museumplein, a big park between Rijksmuseum, Stedelijk Museum, Van Gogh Museum and Diamond Museum Amsterdam.

 A lawn at the entrance to the museum of contemporary art, the Stedelijk Museum

 Skateboarders

 Exposition in the museum. I would take a couple of those pieces to my house with a great pleasure

 An exposition on poster design 

 Disco

 Psychedelic

 Hello

 A view from the museum’s cafeteria

 The cafeteria is a nice place to take your coffee and dig into discovering of  treasures which you have bought couple minutes ago in a museum’s shop downstairs

 Even a menu is in line with the design concept of the museum 

 Amsterdam without bicycles would not be the city which we know and love 

 Chess game in a park

 The state theatre 

 Street art

 An elefant 

 Spotted moment

 This is what I love about Amsterdam – huge windows and stylish interiors you may observe through them

 Street lamp is another symbol of the city

 An antique store

 Street moments

We spent the entire day walking along the canals, window shopping and observing the modern art. However for the evening we had planned another discovery  – a gastronomical one.

The journey started at the bar on Oostelijke which is called Mercat. It was a very stylish tapas bar and a night club where you might either stop for a aperitif or come after your dinner to spend the rest of  the night dancing and chatting.

 I can only imagine how nice it is to be on this terrace at summer time

 However the tapas bar was the only first part of the program. Our main expectations were focused on a restaurant of Jamie Oliver, The Fufteen

 Presentation is nice. Service is great. The taste – good but not exceptional

 Posting to my blog

 Here are the links:

Rijksmuseum: Museumstraat 1, 1071 XX Amsterdam

Stedelijk Museum: Museumplein 10, 1071 DJ Amsterdam

Musée van Gogh: Paulus Potterstraat 7, 1071 CX Amsterdam

Mercat tapas bar: Oostelijke Handelskade 4, 1019 BM Amsterdam. Tel: +31 20 344 6424

Fifteen: Jollemanhof 9, 1019 GW Amsterdam. Tel: +31 20 509 5015

You may also read about a boat trip in Amsterdam at my next post. Stay tuned!

